Evening Puja

"Tibetan Nuns during Puja" Thrangu tara Abbey Nunnery, Sitapaiala, Kathmandu, Nepal.

“Tibetan Nuns during Puja” Thrangu tara Abbey Nunnery, Sitapaiala, Kathmandu, Nepal.

“To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one’s family, to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one’s own mind. If a man can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment, and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him”. –

Buddha

 

…during the last few weeks at the nunnery my Nuns started a 45 days retreat, a Buddhist tradition Tibetan Monasteries respect during the rainy season to avoid killing the little animals that would come out because of the abundant  rain. That means Nuns (and Monks) cannot go out the Monasteries, would not eat after 12 o’clock, should not receive visits and concentrate on their practices and studies (and I’m sure lots of other details I’m forgetting right now!) which included to add an extra Puja (Praying session) at 7:30pm to the 5:ooam and 3:00pm ones. I usually attended “in spirit” the 5am one from my bed 🙂 ,as I could hear it very well having my room facing the Gompa anyway, I occasionally attended the 3pm one, but I’ve never missed the 7:30pm Puja! 😀 Ahhh my Nuns chanting is like earing Angels singing! No matter if the chants are in Tibetan, but the sweet harmonies of their lovely voices, the lively rhythms of their chants and their, to me, inexplicable way to play the instruments Buddhist uses, makes a Puja an incredible explosion of sounds and angelic voices…oh! And of course the Tibetan Butter tea you get offered every session… 😉

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

