Green Tea

"Traditional Green Tea" Hoi An, Vietnam.

“Traditional Green Tea” Hoi An, Vietnam.

“The great glory of travel, to me, is not just what I see that’s new to me in countries visited, but that in almost every one of them I change from an outsider looking in to an insider looking out.”
Clara E. Laughlin, Traveling Through Life
 
 
 

…while I was wandering around the beautiful Museum of Folklore in wonderful Hoi An, I got approached very gently by one of the lovely girl working there. She asked me if I was interested in trying some Vietnamese Tea done the traditional way, and as I LOVE tea, and came across the art of brewing Green Tea  before when working in London, I didn’t have to think about it twice!! I wanted the “other side of the World” teaching, too. I said yes immediately, and earned a big smile from the gentle lady. I love making people smile! I just prayed she was not going to rip me off…!! As…well…in Asia….and particularly in Vietnam, I had my most spectacular “Asian-ripping-off-white-person” moments…….

But she didn’t! She took me in a beautiful corner of the old house where the Museum set,  and  the way she prepared the tea was surprising and totally new to me; I tasted the most amazing, delicate and a tiny fruity Green Vietnamese Tea I have ever tried, it was exceptionally good!! And the bag only cost me 1$, phewww!!  😉 …

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Green Tea

  1. I had similar experiences in Jordan on my many travels there… the men quite often would rip me off whenever they could. The women, however, often helped me (giving directions etc.) without asking for anything (the men always asked for baksheesh afterwards). That just meant I gave the women more for their trouble than I ever gave the men! 🙂

    Lovely story and photo 🙂
    Carol.

    • Oh yes, that is very true, I have had amazing encounters with women when in Asia, incredibly touching at times, and definitely men where the ones ripping me off most of the time! But in Vietnam I had much more problems with those involved in the tourism business, man and women! Scams and lies are a daily thing, which has been incredibly frustrating and very upsetting at times! So I was a little worried when a local, in Vietnam, was overly nice to me… But was all part of the experience, and the normal Vietnamese (Those not involved in Tourism) were as kind and open as only Asian can be at times! 😀

      Thank so much for your visits and lovely comments Carol, I really enjoy them!
      Big hug 😀

  2. Oh, I love tea. I love Sri Lankan teas, and this looks exceptionally great. I need to try it one day! Thanks for sharing, Tata. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

    Subhan Zein

    • Oh I never tried Sri Lankan tea, but I know they are very famous for their tea 🙂 The Vietnamese tea was GREAT, you should definitely try it if you came across it Subhan 🙂
      You’re very welcome! Thank you for stopping by!! 😀 Blessing and love back to you!!

Leave a Reply

