Puja at the Nunnery

 

"Puja" Thrangu Tara Abbey Nunnery, Sitapaila, Kathmandu, Nepal.

“Puja” Thrangu Tara Abbey Nunnery, Sitapaila, Kathmandu, Nepal.

 

“Every place is a goldmine. You have only to give yourself time, sit in a teahouse watching the passers-by, stand in a corner of the market, go for a haircut. You pick up a thread – a word, a meeting, a friend of a friend of someone you have just met – and soon the most insipid, most insignificant place becomes a mirror of the world, a window on life, a theatre of humanity.”

Tiziano Terzani, “A Fortune-Teller Told Me”

 

 

 

…when I was in Nepal, I volunteered for 7 weeks in a Tibetan Buddhist Nunnery; I was teaching English to young women between 15 to 26 years old. Those 49 days (my nuns used to count days and not weeks) have been the most rewarding and some of the most joyful moments of my life. Ever. …

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Puja at the Nunnery

  1. That must have been a brilliant and rewarding experience working in the monastery for those weeks. And great that you were teaching the girls something – so many countries hold their women back!
    Carol.

    • Those weeks have probably been the most amazing human experience I ever had, those nuns have been, and still are, the greatest inspiration and a source of strenght that helps me even now when I think of them. What this girls have been through before the nunnery is sometimes so hard that puts westeners so called “problems” in prospective. In Asia learning English means everything to people, and even if I’m Italian and English is not my 1st language, I wanted to teach it as I know how it feels feeling silly because you can’t say or understand when the teacher speaks. And you Carol are so right…women in Asia are considered second class…inferior cast, not even the nuns have the same right as the monks!! That is the reason I was there 😀 I wanted to give something to those girls, the only thing I thought it was worth, a little of my knowledge that could help them in open up their life a little 🙂

Leave a Reply

