Angkor and the Monk

"A Monk and a Window" Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia.

“A Monk and a Window” Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia.

“Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.”
Rumi
 
 
 
 
…oh, how original! A photo of a Monk in Angkor Wat!  No one that has been to Angkor has got one!… ;D
Well…I wanted one, too!! And I waited a whole 2 days to get a decent one without thousand of tourist in the middle…And even had to wait that my chosen Monk finished his phone call, and took away that piece of strident modernity from my romantic picture!!
 
 
 
 
12 thoughts on “Angkor and the Monk

  1. That mobile phone would really shatter the tranquil thoughts and the image of how you would expect things to be with a monk and the temple! Reminds me of when we were staying with Beduin in Jordan in their goatskin tent… they spent a lot of time on mobile phones and driving great big jeeps around the desert – but they still had camels and all their other traditional stuff – seemed a real culture clash!

    Great photo 🙂
    Carol.

    • Thank you Carol! 🙂
      You should have seen those young monks!! Especially in Nepal…modern mobiles, motorbikes, computers, Ipads…Facebook!!! :O Some Lamas even have their own FB page! At first my little western mind full of stereotipes was a bit disappointed to see my image of the lone meditators up in the Hymalaias with all the secrets about life and the Universe crumbling down!
      But as for your Beduin in Jordan, they still did all the traditional things too…it took me a little to get use to the contrast, but then I found it kind of funny!
      Tx

  2. Hmmm, I don’t know. While I agree a bunch of tourist might have ruined the picture, I think the mobile phone would have added an interesting contrast (but then I tend to look at things very non-traditionally)….no matter what’s in the picture…the secrets are all still there…

    • Haha! 😀 That’s the beauty of having so many different perspectives and personalities! 😀 No mobile phones allowed in my Monk picture in Angkor Wat (even if I do have the one with the phone too!)!! 😀 As Monk wise I’m super traditional! And trust me Jonny, I saw them doing soooooo many non-traditional stuff I’ve got funny memories for a life time! 😀 Secrets are all there…;)

Leave a Reply

